on the death of bin Laden

In response to the killing of Osama bin Laden, in a recent Facebook post, a friend quoted from MLK:

“Through violence you may murder the hater, but you do not murder hate.
In fact, violence merely increases hate.
So it goes.
Returning violence for violence multiplies violence,
adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars.
Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that.
Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”

I’m conflicted on this point. I get the ‘deeper darkness’, but when the grasshopper is eating my crops and I must choose between food on the table and his single minded purpose, without regard to my labors, despite the beauty of his iridescent architecture, the beast must go. I mourn the loss of his spirit but rejoice in feeding my kin.

This man, bin Laden, has spawned a plague of hate and had set himself up as the very embodiment of irrational delusion. I’m not sure that reason, in a time when we seem to have collectively lost our rationality, could have achieved a decisive end to this battle. For even a virus is a living organism, and we can tolerate a certain level of infection, but at some point management is no longer an option, if we are to survive.

About kkurman

Garden Designer, Horticulturalist, Landscape Gardener/Consultant bi-coastal
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to on the death of bin Laden

  1. hixsan says:

    indeed, point well made about feeding and surviving, but this whole USA USA b-s, has gone to far… monsters create monsters, and there are plenty more monster out there to fend off, even those in our backyard. xsan

  2. kkurman says:

    I’m not so sure those people celebrating the news of bin Laden’s death could be categorized as ‘monsters’. There has been a lot of crazy in this country lately, on that I will agree. But I feel that there has been a lot of pent-up frustration over the unfulfilled promises of of the previous administration that probably really needed venting. The MSM aside, there is very little descent over taking out bin Laden world-wide. As I say, I’m conflicted, but I think those demonstrations of joy were really genuine, and it brought tears to my eyes when the crowds outside the White House spontaneously burst into “The Star Spangled Banner”, bin Laden had in fact, declared war on the US, and at that moment, we were victorious.

Leave a Reply

